Jones County Solid Waste Commission Meeting Minutes

November 2nd, 2021

The Jones County Solid Waste Commission meeting was held at the Jones County Transfer Station. Those present were Vice Chairman Ned Rohwedder (Jones County Board of Supervisors), Galen Capron (Anamosa), Dale Barnes (Anamosa), Dave Dirks (Olin), John Zirkelbach (Jones County Board of Supervisors), Alicia Presto (ECICOG) and Karl Taylor (Director JCSWC).

The meeting was called to order at 6:30 by Vice Chairman Rohwedder.

A motion was made by Dale Barnes to approve the minutes from the October meeting. The motion was seconded by Galen Capron. The motion was approved with all voting Aye.

The expenditures and financial reports were reviewed, and a motion was made by Dale Barnes to approve the bills for payment. The motion was seconded by Galen Capron and the motion passed with all voting Aye.

A motion was made by Dale Barnes and seconded by Dave Dirks to charge off two old uncollectable accounts from the AR Aging Report. The motion carried with all voting Aye.

Alicia Presto from ECICOG updated the board on the Regional Comprehensive Integrated Solid Waste Management Plan.

Old Business:

The annual renewal of the healthcare coverage for the employees of the Transfer station included the addition of an option for vision coverage which was not voted on by the Board as it wasn't clear that it was a new addition. A motion was made by Dale Barnes and seconded by Galen Capron to approve the addition at a 95/5 % split for single and 75/25 for families which is the same as the medical and dental coverage. The motion passed with all voting Aye.

New Business:

The board reviewed the reports from the Annual Engineers inspection of the Transfer Station and the Semi-Annual inspection of the closed landfill.

There was a discussion of needs and methods for procuring necessary materials to upgrade the ability to contain fluid spills at the Transfer Station. The board recommended it be treated as a regular expendable be submitted for re-imbursement.

Karl Taylor updated the board on the status of the new end loader timetable.

The purchase of the solid tires from the end loader traded in previously was tabled until it was known if all four tires had to be purchased or if the two better tires could be bought by themselves.

John Zirkelbach moved to adjourn the meeting. Dave Dirks seconded the motion and the motion passed with all voting Aye. The meeting adjourned at 7:15.

Recorded by Karl Taylor, Director

Kan Dagh

JONES COUNTY SOLID WASTE COMMISSION AP LISTING

Fund	Purpose	EP	Service	Vendor		
4120	3rd qtr unemployment tx		\$ 33.64	la Workforce Development		
4120	3rd qtr sales tax		\$ 76.00	Treasurer of State		
4120	Rocks		\$ 513.99	Behrends Stone		
4120	Telephone		\$ 103.91	Center Junction Telephone		
4120	Telephone		\$ 52.04	Century Link		
4120	Tire Disposal			Dittmer Recycling		
4120	Mileage & fuel		\$ 129.55	Haugsted, David		
4120	Scale		\$ 210.00	Hawkeye State Scale		
4120	Supplies		\$ 220.97	John Deere Fin - Theisens		
4120	Recycling		\$ 5,244.49	Liberty Tire Recycling		
4120	Computer Recycling		\$ 1,675.50	Midwest Electronic Recovery		
4120	Solidwaste Disposal		\$ 37,438.92	MWI/Quad Cities Landfill		
4120	Phone srv		\$ 10.52	Pioneer Telephone		
4120	pstg		\$ 84.00	Postmaster		
4120	Supplies		\$ 138.76	Taylor, Karl		
4120	QuickBooks Subscript		\$ 25.00	US Bank		
4120	Solid Waste Hauling		\$ 21,570.00	VIP Sanitation		
4120	Recycling		\$ 2,880.00	Wapsi Waste		
Sub-tota	al 4120-Operating Fun	d	\$ 70,407.29			

4121	Leachate Hauling		\$ 643.88	VIP Sanitation
Sub-tota	I 4121-Landfill Closure/Post Cl	osure	\$ 643.88	
				2

Total	\$	71,051.17