The Temporary Redistricting Commission met in regular session. Deb Bowman, Denny Coon, Joe Cruise, Jan Miller, and Roger Kistler of the commission were present.

Additional public members were also present in-person. Those in attendance included Kim Brooks (Monticello Express), Ned Rohwedder (Supervisor), Jon Zirkelbach (Supervisor), Kristi Aitchison (GIS Coordinator), and Whitney Hein (Auditor). The meeting was also offered via ZOOM. Those in attendance on ZOOM included Joe Oswald (Supervisor), Jeff Swisher (Supervisor), Tony Amsler, and Bob Gertsen.

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Deb Bowman, Chairperson.

Moved by Joe Cruise seconded by Denny Coon to open the public hearing on the proposal of new boundaries for the five Jones County Supervisor districts at 6:00 p.m. All aye. Motion carried.

Deb Bowman gave an overview on why the commission chose Option A to present to the public. The reasons included that the population between districts is very even, the Monticello area is very compact, Anamosa is very similar to the way it is now which helps to avoid confusion, district 4 has cleaner lines and follows road landmarks, and district 5 has been cleaned up on the eastern border.

There were no public comments against the proposed maps.

Supervisors Zirkelbach, Oswald, and Rohwedder all thanked the commission for their time and efforts spent on the process and stated that they are in favor of the presented option.

Moved by Jan Miller seconded by Joe Cruise to close the public hearing at 6:05 p.m. All aye. Motion carried.

The Commission discussed next steps.

Moved by Roger Kistler seconded by Joe Cruise to adopt the proposed Supervisor District Option A map and to send it to the Board of Supervisors for final approval. On roll call vote: Coon aye, Cruise aye, Miller aye, Kistler aye, Bowman aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Joe Cruise seconded by Denny Coon to adjourn the meeting at 6:07 p.m. All aye. Motion carried.