The Jones County Board of Supervisors met in regular session. Present Supervisors Zirkelbach, Oswald, Schlarmann, Swisher, and Rohwedder.

Moved by Rohwedder seconded by Schlarmann to approve the minutes of the April 12 and 14, 2022 meetings. All aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Oswald seconded by Swisher to approve payroll for the period ending April 10, 2022. All aye. Motion carried.

Tom Osborne, on behalf of the Historic Preservation Commission, met with the Board for the approval of the Certified Local Government annual report.

Moved by Oswald seconded by Schlarmann to approve the Certified Local Government Annual Report from the Jones County Historic Preservation Commission pending the signature from a member of the Historic Preservation Commission. All aye. Motion carried. (Auditor's note: Tim Fay, Historic Preservation Commission member did sign the report later in the day.) [2022-063]

The Auditor met with the Board for various administrative matters as outlined in the motions below and to give an update on repairs need to the ADA ramp and basement foundation at the Courthouse.

Moved by Swisher seconded by Schlarmann to approve and authorize the Chairman to sign and place on file 28E Law Enforcement Contracts for FY2023 with the cities of Martelle, Morley, Olin, Oxford Junction, and Wyoming; and 28E Communication Services Contracts for FY2023 with the cities of Anamosa and Monticello. All aye. Motion carried. [2022-065, 2022-067, 2022-068, 2022-069, 2022-070, 2022-071, 2022-064, 2022-066]

Moved by Schlarmann seconded by Oswald to approve and place on file the Sheriff's Report of Fees Collected for the quarter ending March 31, 2022. All aye. Motion carried. [2022-072]

Moved by Oswald seconded by Rohwedder to approve the Recorder's Report of Fees Collected for the quarter ending March 31, 2022. All aye. Motion carried. [2022-073]

Supervisor Rohwedder introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption, seconded by Supervisor Oswald. On roll call vote: Schlarmann aye, Swisher aye, Rohwedder aye, Oswald aye, Zirkelbach aye, whereupon the Chairman declared the resolution passed and adopted.

## RESOLUTION ADOPTING RESTATED 401(a) NATIONWIDE RETIREMENT PLAN

RESOLVED, that the form of amended Plan and Trust effective January 1, 2021, presented to this meeting is hereby approved and adopted and that an authorized representative of the Employer is hereby authorized and directed to execute and deliver to the Administrator of the Plan one or more counterparts of the plan. [2022-074]

Moved by Oswald seconded by Rohwedder to place on file a recommendation from the American Rescue Plan Act committee outlining possible uses of the county's ARPA funding. All aye. Motion carried. [2022-075]

Supervisor Oswald introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption, seconded by Supervisor Schlarmann. On roll call vote: Schlarmann aye, Swisher aye, Rohwedder aye, Oswald aye, Zirkelbach aye, whereupon the Chairman declared the resolution passed and adopted.

# RESOLUTION ALLOCATING AMERICAN RESCUE PLAN ACT FUNDS

**WHEREAS**, in March 2021, the federal government established the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (ARPA) which included the Coronavirus State and Local Fiscal Recovery Funds (SLFRF)

to provide state, local and Tribal governments with the resources needed to respond to the pandemic and its economic effects; and

**WHEREAS**, the U.S. Department of the Treasury issued an Interim Final Rule implementing the SLFRF program on May 10, 2021, which included replacing lost revenue to County governments, and

**WHEREAS,** on January 6, 2022, the Treasury issued final rules for the SLFRF program, including authorization for counties to allocate up to \$10,000,000 of their total SLFRF allocation as lost revenue to spend on government services.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**, that the Jones County Board of Supervisors approves allocating its total SLFRF allocation in the expected amount of \$4,017,042 as lost revenue to spend on government services.

**HEREBY RESOLVED** by the Jones County Board of Supervisors this 18th day of April, 2022. [2022-076]

Moved by Swisher seconded by Oswald to award the lawn mowing bid to Minger Mowing and Landscaping, Inc. for 105 Broadway Place and the west hillside only at 500 W Main Street and to use existing county equipment and staff to mow the remaining premise at 500 W Main Street. All aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Schlarmann seconded by Swisher to appoint the following to the Jones County EMS Advisory Council per Iowa Code Section 422D with the council structure as follows. All aye Motion carried.

•	Sheila Frink	Anamosa Ambulance Director
•	Jill Parham	Anamosa Ambulance Voting Member
•	Jen Uthoff	Martelle Ambulance Director
•	Joyce Bilow	Martelle Ambulance Voting Member
•	Jake Gravel	Midland Ambulance Director
•	Brian Podaski	Midland Ambulance Voting Member
•	Britt Smith	Monticello Ambulance Director
•	Chris Lux	Monticello Ambulance Voting Member
•	Jean McPherson	Olin Ambulance Director
•	Katrina Rix	Olin Ambulance Voting Member
•	Kim Krutzfeld	Oxford Junction Ambulance Director
•	Dennis Coon	Oxford Junction Ambulance Voting Member
•	Gregory Blythe	Medical Director Representative
•	Jeff Swisher	Board Of Supervisor Member
•	Karla Koehler	District 1 Board Of Supervisor Representative
•	Jeff Hinrichs	District 2 Board Of Supervisor Representative
•	Stan Rieter	District 3 Board Of Supervisor Representative
•	Margo Ahrendsen	District 4 Board Of Supervisor Representative
•	Mark Robertson	District 5 Board Of Supervisor Representative
•	Brenda Leonard	Emergency Management Member
•	Whitney Hein	Clerk

## **Jones County EMS Advisory Council Structure**

Council Members

- Non-voting members: EMS Service Directors and Board of Supervisor Representative
- Voting members: (11 total) a member representing each EMS Service in Jones County and each Board of Supervisor appoints one member

#### - Term Limits

• Voting members: 3-year staggered terms with 1/3 of the council terms expiring each year.

#### - Structure

- All meetings shall have a posted agenda at least 24 hours prior to the meeting start time.
- o All meetings are open to the public.
- o A quorum will be met when 6 voting members are present.
- After all appointments have been made, the council shall elect a chair and vice-chair and shall do every year at the first meeting of the calendar year.
- The Auditor will serve as the Clerk of the EMS Advisory Council and shall keep minutes of all meetings.

The Engineer met with the Board to give updates on current projects including contract rock, a surcharge to a current order for a tandem cab and chassis, and the grant process for the Landis Road bridge.

The Board members gave brief updates on past and future committee meetings.

During the public comment period, the Board was reminded that action was not taken on lawn fertilizer bids earlier in the meeting.

Moved by Oswald seconded by Rohwedder to award the lawn fertilizer bid for four applications at 500 W Main Street and one application at 105 Broadway Street to Minger Mowing and Landscaping, Inc. All aye. Motion carried.

Moved by Schlarmann seconded by Swisher to adjourn the meeting at 10:20 a.m. All aye. Motion carried.

Attest: Whitney Hein, Auditor

Jon Zirkelbach, Chairman