Jones County EMS Advisory Council Meeting

May 18, 2022

Members present in-person: Members present via ZOOM: Members Absent:

Brenda Leonard - Jeff Swisher -Jill Parham

- Brian Podhaski
- Britt Smith
- Chris Lux
- Dennis Coon
- Gregory Blythe
- Jake Gravel
- Jean McPherson
- Jeff Hinrichs
- Jen Uthoff
- Joyce Bilow
- Karla Koehler
- Katrina Rix
- Kim Krutzfeld
- Margo Ahrendsen
- Mark Robertson
- Sheila Frink
- Stan Rieter
- Whitney Hein

Chairman Margo Ahrendsen called the meeting to order at 6:30 P.M.

Moved by Stan Rieter seconded by Dennis Coon to approve the minutes from the May 4, 2022 EMS Advisory Council Meeting. All aye. Motion carried.

The local EMS departments presented information to the members of the council. Topics included in the presentation and discussion were service structure, staffing of the services, population of ambulance service areas, number of calls per service area, equipment and age of equipment currently owned by the services, annual expenses and revenues of the services, largest funding sources, budget deficits, and how the services would benefit from tax dollars.

After the presentation, the council discussed the property tax option versus the income surtax option, and the marketing plan for if and when the tax would go to a vote.

Moved by Mark Robertson seconded by Jeff Hinrichs to pursue supporting EMS services in Jones county financially. All aye. Motion carried.

The Council discussed future meeting dates and will meet again on May 31, 2022 at 6:30 P.M in the Community Room of the Jones County Courthouse.

Moved by Chris Lux seconded by Joyce Bilow to adjourn the meeting at 8:09 P.M. All aye. Motion carried.