## Jones County Planning and Zoning Commission Meeting Minutes August 16, 2022, 4:30 p.m.

### Members present:

Tim Fay, Chairman Kristina Doll Keith Stamp

### Members absent:

Lowell Tiedt Vacancy for District 4

### Staff present:

Michele Lubben, Jones County Land Use Administrator

# Visitors present:

Darren Hanna 428 Holt St., Anamosa Bob Gertsen, District 4 Supervisors Democratic nominee Matt Behrends, 16454 130<sup>th</sup> St., Anamosa, JCED Bryce Ricklefs, 3397 Stone City Rd, Central City, Developer Brooke Bohlken, 22839 102<sup>nd</sup> St., Anamosa

Fay called the meeting to order at 4:31 p.m. Stamp motioned to approve the agenda, Doll seconded. All aye. Motion carried.

Motion by Stamp seconded by Doll to approve the July 12, 2022 meeting minutes. All aye. Motion carried.

Motion by Stamp seconded by Doll to appoint Tim Fay as the Chairperson to the Planning and Zoning Commission. All aye. Motion carried. The Administrative Rules for 2022 were postponed until more members of the Commission were present.

Motion by Doll seconded by Stamp to open the public hearing at 4:33 p.m. to consider a proposal to amend the Jones County Zoning Ordinance. (proposed deletions have strikethrough). All aye. Motion carried.

The language proposed to change was published as follows:

ARTICLE XXIII PLANNING AND ZONING COMMISSION

### SECTION 1. MEMBERSHIP

The Jones County Planning and Zoning Commission shall have two (2) members shall serve for a term of three (3) years, three (3) members shall serve for a term of two (2) years. New members of this board shall be appointed by the Board of Supervisors, each serving a term of three (3) years. The members shall reside in Jones

County, Iowa, with a member residing in each of the five (5) Jones County Supervisor Districts, and members shall reside outside the corporate limits of any city.

ARTICLE XXIV BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT

#### SECTION 2. MEMBERSHIP

There is hereby created the Jones County Board of Adjustment. The Board shall consist of five (5) members appointed by the Board of Supervisors. The members shall reside within unincorporated Jones County, with a member residing in each of the five (5) Jones County Supervisor Districts. Each member shall be appointed for a term of five (5) years, except that with the initial board one (1) member shall be appointed for a term of five (5) years, one (1) member for a term of three (3) years, one (1) member for a term of two (2) years, and one (1) member for a term of one (1) year. Members shall be removable for cause by the Board of Supervisors upon written charges and following public hearing. Vacancies shall be filled for the unexpired term of any member whose term becomes vacant.

There were no comments on the proposed text amendments from the public.

Stamp motioned to close the public hearing at 4:38 p.m. Doll seconded. All aye. Motion carried.

Motion by Doll seconded by Stamp to approve the proposed text amendments and send a recommendation of approval to the Board of Supervisors.

Roll call vote: Doll-Aye Stamp – Aye Fay – Aye All aye. Motion carried.

Next, the Commission discussed the 2022 Comprehensive Plan after the July 12, 2022 public hearing. They discussed responses to comments and questions from the public and next steps on the 2022 Comprehensive plan.

Stamp commented on a possible public hearing on the Comprehensive Plan to take place in Monticello. There were five visitors in attendance to offer comments on the proposed Comprehensive Plan. The Chairman, Tim Fay allowed comments from visitors. Much of the discussion revolved around future growth with the City of Anamosa.

Members of the public would like to continue open and collaborative discussion regarding growth and its challenges and opportunities. Commission members along with the public would like a work session to discuss future land use maps.

The Land Use Administrator updated the Commission on the vacancy left by the resignation of District 4 appointee Jim McElheny, general land use matters and fall General Election planning.

The Commission decided to move the regular meeting from September 13, 2022 (Anamosa School Special Election Day) to September 27, 2022 at 5:00 p.m.

Motion by Doll seconded by Stamp to adjourn the meeting at 6:25 p.m. All aye. Motion carried.