Jones County Solid Waste Commission September 14th, 2022 Special Meeting Minutes

The Jones County Solid Waste Commission held a special meeting on September 14th at the Jones County Transfer station with some members attending via video conference. Those present were Chairman Russ Benke (Onslow), Ned Rohwedder (Jones County Board of Supervisors), Dale Barnes (Anamosa), Dave Dircks (Olin) and Karl Taylor (Jones County Solid Waste). Jeff Swisher (Jones County Board of Supervisors), Wayne Peach (Monticello) and Alicia Presto (ECICOG) Attended via Conference Call.

Clark and Brenda Hagen (VIP Sanitation) were present for the results of the Trash Hauling bid process.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Benke at 5:00 p.m.

Ned moved to waive reading of the minutes from September 6th regular meeting. The motion was seconded by Dave Dircks and passed with all voting aye.

The board discussed the merits of the two competing bids and heard recommendations from in-person meetings with bidders. A motion was made by Ned Rohwedder to award the contract to the low bidder, Midwest Injection Inc. Dave Dircks seconded and the motion passed with all voting aye. It was reemphasized that the outcome of the process was in no way a reflection on the quality of service provided by the current hauler (VIP Sanitation) which has been excellent.

Dale Barnes moved to adjourn the meeting and it was adjourned at 5:35 P.M.

Meeting adjourned @ 5:35 p.m. Karl Taylor, Director

La Dayle