Nuisance Information

Resources for Renters

Eastern Iowa Regional Housing Authority, 563-556-4166

EIRHA was established in 1978 to meet the housing needs of low and moderate income families and elderly, and serves seven counties: Cedar, Clinton, Delaware, Dubuque, Jackson, Jones, and Scott County in Eastern Iowa. The cities of Clinton, Camanche, Davenport and Dubuque are not served by the EIRHA region.

Iowa Legal Aid, 1-800-532-1275

The Iowa Landlord and Tenant Act applies to rental agreements for most houses or apartments. Visit their website for information regarding the shared duties of tenants and landlords and a summary of the Iowa Landlord and Tenant Act.


U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Tenant Rights, Laws, and Protection: Iowa


Reporting Nuisance Complaints

If you live within city limits, please contact your city officials with any nuisance complaints or code violations. Otherwise, please contact the Jones County Land Use (Auditor's Office) at 319-462-2282 with questions or concerns regarding county land use or housing complaints. 

There are no minimum housing codes in Jones County.

© 2023 by Jones County. Proudly created with