The Jones County Planning and Zoning Commission shall have two (2) members shall serve for a term of three (3) years, three (3) members shall serve for a term of two (2) years. New members of this board shall be appointed by the Board of Supervisors, each serving a term of three (3) years. The members shall reside in Jones County, Iowa, with a member residing in each of the five (5) Jones County Supervisor Districts, and a majority of the members shall reside outside the corporate limits of any city. Any member residing within the corporate limits of a city shall also hold title to property located in an unincorporated area of Jones County.



The Jones County Planning and Zoning Commission shall recommend to the Board of Supervisors amendments, supplements, changes, or modifications to the boundaries of the planning districts, and the regulations and restrictions to be enforced therein. 



The Land Use Plan prepared by the Jones County Planning and Zoning Commission is adopted by the Jones County Board of Supervisors as the Final Report required under 2005 Iowa Code Section 335.8, and said report shall act as a reference point and guide for planning and land use ordinances in Jones County.



Planning and Zoning Commission Members

Tim Fay - District 1

Keith Stamp - District 2

Kristina Doll - District 3

Jim McElheny - District 4

Lowell Tiedt - District 5

Meeting dates are generally the second Tuesday of the month in the Community Room in the lower level of the Jones County Courthouse.  Please contact the Land Use Administrator regarding these meetings. 

The next meeting is Tuesday, January 12, 2021 at 4:30 p.m. in the Community Room.   

The meeting deadline for the January meeting is Monday, December 21, 2020.

Contact the Land Use Administrator for questions regarding these meetings.

2012-2019 P&Z Meeting Minutes Master

P&Z Meeting Minutes 01.08.19

P&Z Meeting Minutes 02.19.19

P&Z Meeting Minutes 03.11.19

P&Z Meeting Minutes 04.15.19

P&Z Meeting Minutes 05.14.19

P&Z Meeting Minutes 07.09.19

P&Z Meeting Minutes 08.19.19

P&Z Meeting Minutes 09.09.19

P&Z Meeting Minutes 10.07.19

P&Z Meeting Minutes 12.10.19

P&Z Meeting Minutes 01.14.20

P&Z Meeting Minutes 02.11.20

P&Z Meeting Minutes 05.12.20

P&Z Meeting Minutes 06.09.20

P&Z Meeting Minutes 07.14.20

P&Z Meeting Minutes 08.11.20

P&Z Meeting Minutes 09.08.20

P&Z Meeting Minutes 10.13.20

© 2023 by Jones County. Proudly created with